Cool Colours on a Warm Day

Purples, blues, greens and yellows. That seemed to be the theme of the day while I was going through and editing after our morning walk.

I’ve been making it a goal to try and step out of my comfort zone, photographically speaking, as much as possible lately. From subject matter, to type of light, to lens choice…I’m trying it all! While I did shoot the majority of the time with my preferred lens, there were a few things I tried to mix up a little.

  1. I tried to force myself to use my wide-angle every now and again to shoot some landscape shots. There are a few that aren’t in this post, but they turned out better than I expected. I had fun with it and will keep getting to know my wide-angle better by using it more frequently outside and inside as well. I have noticed that baby is sharp as hell when it comes to focus!
  2. I found some very intricate spider webs to shoot therefor switching up my subject matter a bit. I had a lot of fun trying to figure out the best angles at which to shoot them so they show up nicely on camera, and they were also a lot of fun to play around with while editing. I also tried to do some pull back shots for a change to show the whole location of where I’m shooting since I am shooting close up the majority of the time.
  3. I tried shooting in full sun. Usually shady areas are my go-to, but lately the sun has been full blast making shady areas fewer and farther between. I decided to try and embrace it today and play around with the shadows and harsher light. I also enjoyed this a lot and will keep attempting to shoot full sun and look for various types of shadows and dappled light next time.

Overall, I’m trying to diversify and see things with a new eye, even if staying in my usual genre of photography. I’ve been on a huge learning kick the past couple of weeks and am enjoying every minute.

What have you done to step out of your comfort zone lately?

 

Leave a Reply

